100 Species, 4 Lifers, 2 Days – Migfest 2016

Paddy's Wildlife Blog

I’d been looking forward to this weekend since the start of summer. I’d booked my tickets and planned the journey. I’d even practised putting my tent up in the dark. All this was for the Spurn Migration Festival 2016 on the second weekend of September. I started my sixth form on the Wednesday and on Friday I was driving up to Spurn Bird Observatory, near Hull, with Toby Carter and Sam Pitt-Miller.

We knew we’d be late to arrive because we were driving the 5-hour journey after school but because of bad traffic on the motorways we ended up outside the Crown and Anchor, unable to find the campsite, at midnight. Paul Collins, the warden, came out of the pub and kindly said we could pitch our tents in the Obs garden so that’s exactly where we camped for the whole weekend! We also met Jonnie Fisk and another young…

View original post 826 more words

Leave a Reply

